Jay Peachy

Sometimes you get the tenant you need and sometimes you get the tenant who needs you. Life is like that, full of give and take. I am grateful for both.

Jay came to me after a difficult time. My new suite had been vacated by me very dear tenant (who had been so helpful – he’s family now but that’s another story) when the developer of the adjacent lands cut off access to my property.

The most important criterion for becoming my tenant is being scent and chemical free. A long round of emails confirmed that Jay  was a good communicator, willing to completely give up the use of all scent and chemical products and delighted to find a space that would allow his dog. I agreed to meet him.

There were a number of applicants but something drew me to this man with no references, a strange affect, no job and clearly no money for the deposit …and our relationship began: landlord- tenant; advocate-client; employer-attendant; patron-artist; neighbour-neighbour; friend-friend. There were and are many more aspects to our relationship. I know that this was the place where he was meant to heal and evolve more fully into Jay Peachy, the artist. And clearly, although he is not the tenant I anticipated, one who could be the helper I needed for my physical challenges – do not get the idea it is a one way street.

Jay is an amazing attendant when I go to medical appointments and need someone to guard me against reactions to chemical exposure. He has twice administered the epipen and numerous times supplied oxygen when required. He’s amazing and was once asked in a medical setting if he was a nurse when he deftly saved my life.

But here in Anmore, “Nature’s Home” as Dr. Lynn Burton and I are determined to label this beautiful community, Jay has healed and blossomed. Yes, he still has bipolar disorder. But now he has safety nets in place, a home community, the courage to stand up and face the world fighting the stigma, LABEL clearly pasted on his forehead, and help others tirelessly through his artistic genius.

He has become a volunteer at Mossom Creek Hatchery just below our home, connected with salmon enhancement and conservation and swallowed that into his art and essence. He hosts a radio show, Sound Therapy Radio on CJSF and has now won awards for his efforts. His standup comedy is just another of his artistic endeavours.  Jay Peachy brought Art in the Garden to Anmore with a group of enthusiastic volunteers inviting the support and promotional assistance of the Tri-City Arts Connect Umbrella.

Twenty-four months ago, this young man could not get himself out of bed. He was defeated by a disease and a system. One hand up, a lot of nature and living with his faithful dog companion, Star, and he didn’t just come back, he’s bringing others with him and showing them the way.

Comments
  1. Vince Montgomery says:

    Elaine

    Spot on! Well said. Jay has hard earned every bit of the praise he deserves.

  2. J Peachy says:

    Thank you so much for the nomination. This really demonstrates what, love, compassion and community can do. By never wanting to give up on someone takes tremendous courage; to have the humility to never ask for anything in return is an incredible and powerful gift.

  3. John Pippus says:

    Good letter, Elaine. Good to learn about other aspects of Jay I wasn’t aware of. I know Jay as a guy with projects on the go, sometimes more than can be accomplished. But I’ve always liked the “can do” attitude he brings to any meeting. And I’ve seen his talent for art steadily increase. Learning the tricks of the trade I suppose, as he goes. Same can be said for all of us. Jay’s been inspiring to many, and I fully support his nomination for this award.

  4. […] Jay Peachy, Courage To Come Back (via Elaine Willis’ Blog) Jay Peachy Sometimes you get the tenant you need and sometimes you get the tenant who needs you. Life is like that, full of give and take. I am grateful for both. Jay came to me after a difficult time. My new suite had been vacated by me very dear tenant (who had been so helpful – he’s family now but that’s another story) when the developer of the adjacent lands cut off access to my property. The most important criterion for becoming my tenant is … Read More […]

  5. Well said, Elaine. Bravo Jay!

  6. Roger Loubert says:

    GREAT READ…. !!!!! I RECOMMEND IT TO EVERYONE…. ……

Leave a Reply

