My granddaughter likes shopping for clothes. I find computer equipment much more interesting (and useful). She listens to music and certainly knows the names of the actors and musicians that appear in interesting designer clothing at the Oscars. I read Popular Mechanics and wanted to TWEET about a new reason why GFCI’S (Ground Fault Circuit Interrupters) might be tripping for what seems like no reason because of (GET THIS!!) old, energy inefficient refrigerators! So yesterday we went to the mall (a Saturday – the things we do for our grandchildren!) and looked at shoes and clothes for a couple of hours. Then she sat in the van and listened to her iPod while I spent a half hour at NCIX picking up a few things. She exclaimed, “What were you doing in there so long?”

Different brains like different things. And now I am thinking my friend, Peter, would like these GFCI circuits everwhere so they will detect rogue electricity as he carries on with his mission against electromagnetic radiation.

Now my friend suffers from an uncomfortable state of cognitive dissonance because, I believe, he too is a “nerd” and yet he is discovering huge volumes of information that point to health and environmental issues that show the technologies to be unacceptable. I have to remember that I spent an early part of my life “living off the land” with minimal technology, no electricty and no running water. It isn’t the way. Going backwards is not the answer. Somehow we must accept the differences inherent in the brains of others and begin to solve the conflict in our own minds. For me this has been done by allowing for imperfection. By allowing myself and others to be imperfect, I can now allow that I will work towards improving the effects of technology. I will know I don’t have all the information. I will know that no side on this issue is 100% correct and no side 100% incorrect. Nothing will be black or white. Gathering information will be paramount while suspending absolute judgment will be helpful. I can lean in a direction without discounting ideas from another. This kind of openmindedness is what I aim for and desire in others, whatever the issue. It is very peaceful for the brain…even if I lean towards nerdiness.

Comments
  1. Deborah Sevy says:

    As I read your post I can’t help thinking you might be interested in checking out “Voice Dialogue” (http://delos-inc.com/). It is a tool from a therapuetic modality of psychology that is all about being able to sit between opposite energies, beliefs, values, etc.

    I am enjoying reading your blog!

Leave a Reply

