Dogs, Trees and Peace

Posted: April 29, 2010 in 1
Tags: , , , , , , ,

My FACEBOOK PROFILE describes my interests  “I like peace…oh and trees and dogs.”

I am quite sure there are other interests, maybe even some passions but those three really sum me up quite nicely and this week, sadly, the eldest of our dogs took ill and died.  That’s the risk in loving dogs…in loving any living creature, really. They are mortal, and as such will not stay a living spirit here with us forever. This can make us ponder our own mortality. This time I had to watch my granddaughter encountering her first giant, personal grief. There is a desire to protect a child from such pain but it must come eventually. And eventually it is close and personal like it was with Naya. She became ill quite suddenly. She grew weak. With the aid of the kindest, smartest veterinarian I have ever met, a few tests were done to see if there was something we could to to improve her health but we took no heroic measures. She was so weak we did what is the only kind thing we could do – we didn’t let her suffer. Why is it that we let humans go on, suffer pain, starve in their own bodies? About ten years ago – another elderly dog, another sad time, the same wonderful wise veterinarian…and she said that Amy’s time had come. I thanked her saying I hoped she would do the same for me. I was at the worst ever in my physical health at that time. Melissa took my hand and told me, “Elaine, you know I would if I could.” The nicest words anyone has ever said to comfort me in time of grief.

And at this time of loss and memory my tenant has painted me the most beautiful tree, “Growth”.

GROWTH by Jay Peachy

Oh, and my dear friend Trudy had taken Calli, my granddaughter, and me on a little field trip in February – and we came back with a puppy – Maple Teddy is doing well despite the fact that he is full of mischief, the cycle of LOVE begins again. TREES, DOGS…now if we can only achieve a little PEACE in our community. PEACE takes work. I will work on it…

Comments
  1. Pooh says:

    So sorry!

Leave a Reply

